Peat Classification

The botany composition provided by the type of source vegetation, determines the peat type. Three types were identified in total: high moor, transitional and low moor.

High moor peat is formed mainly in eutrophic moors characterized by high saturation with nutrients.

This type of peat has:

  • High calorific value and moisture capacity
  • Reduced ash content and decomposition degree
  • High acidity

Transitional peat is formed in moors with a low level of primary production. More than 10% of oligotrophic and eutrophic types of residues are present in the botanical composition of the vegetation of these moors.

Transitional type of peat has:

  • Low ash content
  • Slightly acid reaction
  • Decomposition degree not more than 60% and not less than 15%

Low moor peat contains not more than 10% of oligotrophic vegetation. It is formed mainly in river valleys and absorbs a lot of water.

Low moor peat has:

  • High ash content
  • Alkaline or neutral reactions
  • Low content of carbohydrates and bitumen